If students were given the choice between ‘not to study’ and ‘study most of the time’, they would choose ‘not to study’. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Education is of the utmost importance in the all-round development of adolescents. Nevertheless, as the current syllabus is burdensome, most students loathe studying. It is reckoned that if learners were offered the option of ‘not studying’ or ‘studying most of the time’, they would opt for the former. This essay will provide a concrete explanation before demonstrating the author’s perspective. Initially, students often avoid studying due to the onerous curriculum, which makes them have no time to unwind. The government reckons that creating the cumbersome syllabus is to demand students to sharpen a new horizon of knowledge as much as possible. Meanwhile, with their ages, all of their interests are entertainment and gratification. Therefore, it inadvertently becomes a burden for students and makes them abhor studying. To illustrate, every day, children have to spend the whole time concentrating on a diversity of subjects such as chemistry, physics, . . . instead of playing sports with their friends, so studying most of the time may be an execrable experience for them. Therefore, students choose ‘not to study’ when they have a chance. Furthermore, some learners are afraid of studying because of psychological problems caused by education. As a schooler, they have to learn hard to achieve a prestigious grade in examinations because the educational milieu is considered to be a fierce competition of studying achievement. This is formed by peer pressure or parents’ expectations, which significantly affects children's mentality. Therefore, if students studied most of the time, it meant they had to be under pressure most of the time as well and faced numerous mental issues. For instance, being stressed by low marks of examinations, a pupil became inferiority-shattering. Meanwhile, this pupil might not have been like that if she had not studied. With that thought, students would choose the former when they have to choose between ‘not to study’ or ‘studying most of the time’. In conclusion, the reasons why learners opt for ‘not studying’ instead of ‘studying most of the time’ are that they want to have time for gratification and avoid pressure formed by fierce competition at schools. I hold the belief that, with the thinking skill and demands of students, they would not accept spending most of the whole time learning.