IELTS Writing Task 2: Advantages and disadvantages of working from home

The way we work has changed as the years passed. Back then, people commuted to work, but now, by taking advantage of technology, working from home has become more and more popular. This essay will examine both the pros and cons of this new development. On the one hand, working from home is time- and money-saving. People no longer have to spend hours getting ready and being at their workplace on time. Consequently, there is no need to use transport, so they can save a great deal of money. In addition, telecommuting can increase productivity and reduce stress for employees. At home, they are more proactive in controlling their work, they can choose when and how it should be done. Therefore, not only are the tasks efficiently completed but a happier, healthier work life can also be achieved. On the other hand, remote working also has some drawbacks. Many workers struggle with distractions at home. Although working from home removes workplace distractions, if a worker does not have a sufficiently quiet working area at home, they may be easily distracted by their family members or household chores. Moreover, individuals have a hard time not being in contact with other colleagues face-to-face, so they might feel isolated. It can be harder to maintain team spirit when they are at home working on their own. In conclusion, although remote working has many positive aspects such as cost-effectivity and morale boost, there are many negatives to consider like interruption and isolation. Thus, perhaps this type of work is only suitable for certain people in certain jobs.