Identify the Positive or Negative Effects of Science on Food

Without any doubt, science has been drastically developed in every aspect in the past few decades. A variety of innovations have been adopted in food, for example, genetically modified organism foods which ignite a controversy about whether they have positive or negative effects. Since scientists claimed GMO foods is the action to add one gene to an existing gene to offer them new characteristics which diversify food’s function, they have now become more popular to consumers. This essay will discuss the positive influence of modified food. The main benefit could be seen that GMO food containing more nutrition because vitamins and minerals are added to seeds. I take corn which initially is a tropical grass called Teosinte as a prime example. As a matter of fact, the DNA of the Teosinte plant was manipulated transforming the grass into the delicious, starchy kernel we like to eat today. Thus, GMO foods are a compelling factor in improving people’s living standards as well as supporting the human body to prevent diseases. Moreover, instead of selectively breeding for traits we could go directly to the DNA, snip it out and transplant it into newly developing plants. For instance, thanks to genetic modification scientists have given desirable traits into two new various apples that turn less brown when cut or bruised. All of these elements not only contribute to lower costs for the customers but also ensure more people have access to quality food. Another common benefit of genetic modification is that the potential of adapting to new environments. Were crops to be genetically modified, they would have better health to tolerate the soil degradation, unexpected diseases and pesticides. As a result, it can minimize the risk of crop failure and extend longer shelf life. For example, genetically modified crops are now possibly resistant to climate change, typically, flood and drought. From that point, GMO food is considerably cultivated in numerous areas to meet the requirement of food and avoid starvation all around the world. In conclusion, genetically modified organism foods play an important role in improving nutritious food and increasing production. Uncommon as the situation is, people are wondering if the kind of modification is safe. However, all of the genetically modified food on the market has been carefully tested. It is more essential to note that GMO foods are the most popular things that people use daily such as eggs, milk, wheat, soy and nuts.