I have very limited exposure to drug use by today's youth, but with children of my own, are really concerned about this issue and the harmfull effects it can have.

I have very limited exposure to drug use by today's youth, but with children of my own, are really concerned about this issue and the harmfull effects it can have. I will address this issue from my position as a parent, as well as my experience when I was a teenager, when I was exposed to the enviroment of illegal drug use by my friends. Firstly, no parent can fully shield their children from being exposed to drug users. It is inevitable that children will be placed in such situations. It is then logical to assume that your own children will be left to their own discretion when being in that situation. I can remember when I was placed in a similar situation as a teenager at the time. I had to choose between my relationship with my parents or submit to group pressure. I can clearly remember my choice, and why I had made it. Because of a very strong relationship with my parents, I did not want to dissappoint them. I consequently chose them above group pressure. This takes me to the next point. I do know that some adults may be using drugs, and perhaps also do so in front of their own children. It is chilling to think about it. But it happens. However, I believe it is not that widespread, and rather the exception. For this reason I do not think the average adult is setting a bad example for their children. There must then be a different cause to explain this phenomena. My reasoning around the main cause will be explored next. I think the main cause of widespread drug abuse by young people in modern day society is strongly related to the strength of their relationship with their parents and other family members. I strongly think that the relationship that parents have with their children is perhaps the key reason and possibly also the solution to fight drug abuse. Therefore, issues that affect this relationship might need to be explored. The parent-child relationship starts at a very early age, and had been made more challenging by technology and work-life balance challenges that modern day parents are experiencing. Children are often left to their own devices in front of computers, computer games, and television by their parents, so that parents can focus on their highly demanding jobs. These "digital babysitters" may cause more harm than good, and without the parents being aware of it. To restore this relationship between parent and child, the relationship between child and technology, and even parent and technology needs to be disrupted. A simple cure of this would be to switch technology off before bed time, and allow time for family time. Additionally, parents can take their children on regular holidays, even if it is to visit other family members. It can therefore be concluded that children will inevitably be faced with the choice to choose between drugs and their relationship with their parents. The stronger one will always win. Therefore your relationship with your children needs a significant time investment, so that strong parent-child bonds are developed that can withstand any group pressure that can result in children choosing to take drugs. I finally recommend that in order to solve the significant harmful effects of widespread drug use by young people, that awareness and training programmes for parents be introduced that will equip them to help build the necessary bonds with their children.