“Discuss similarities and differences between traditional and distant education”

With the rapid growth of technology higher education has changed a great deal in the last decade. Students now have the option to either take classes online or take classes traditionally in the classroom. Traditional and distant education have both similarities and differences. Traditional classes and online classes have the same purpose, making sure the student is taught the intended material. Their goal is to help the student learn new information and succeed in school. Both online learning require a great amount of work. Giving and receiving feedback is important in both environments. Assignments are also a huge part of the learning experience. When choosing between online and traditional education, it can be helpful to consider factors such as learning styles, settings, and technology need. There are many differences between online and traditional education. Some communication options in online courses include: e- mails, video conferencing, chat rooms. Traditional learning environments offer opportunities for face to face interaction in and out of the classroom. In traditional education every individual has the ability to interact and socialize with his classmates, professors and other members of the college. While in online education the student has class discussions and chats with classmates through the Internet. The major distinction is the learning process between traditional and online classes. Traditional classes are based on lectures and note taking. Online classes are structured completely different. Most students use the textbook and external websites. Some students prefer aspects of traditional classes and learn best by hearing the material verbally and transferring it in their own words to paper other students learn best by reading the material at their own pace to better understand it. In conclusion, it is self – evident that distant education is at present she more progressive method of teaching. It is agreed upon she fact that online education presents more opportunities in situations where traditional education has difficulty running.