Human resources management

It is that branch of management which is concerned with the recruitment, selection, development and the best use of employees. The human resource management that we find today is the result of a number of significant inter-related developments since the era of industrial revolution. Such a role was initially performed by Labour Welfare Officer confined only to the welfare activities of the employees. And the role for filling and giving people for the organisation was given to a person known as 'Personnel Officer'. The traditional concept of Labour welfare and Personnel Management had to be replaced with Human Resource Management. Keeping the foregoing in view, it can be concluded that human resource management has replaced the traditional concept of Labour Welfare and Personnel Management. No enterprise can function and achieve its objectives in the absence of efficient and competent employees. Committed, honest, determined and loyal employees are required not only for the growth but also for the survival of organisation. Therefore, human resource is considered as the most valuable resource of an enterprise. Staffing function starts with the process of need assessment and goes on to recruit and select people as per the requirement of organisation. Further, success of employees depends upon the quality and stability of the jobs for which they are appointed.