How to stop wastage of food? Why people waste some much food?

As we all are aware that the wealth distribution among population is unequal. Someone people live lavishly while some even struggles for drinking water. To reduce the wastage of food, restaurants can network with NGO's as well as shops can approach companies who make fertilizers from organic wastes. Nowadays, everyone is so busy in their lives that hardly anyone gets a chance to think about the food wastage. Due to industrialization and globalization food has become more accessible and cheap as compare to the old days. That's the reason end consumers fails to see the troubles of framers and the part of the crowd who starves to death. I think lack of awareness is the by far the biggest reason responsible for the wastage of food. To minimize this cause, restaurants could tie up with some of the NGO's or social workers. Imagine every time waiters came across the situation when after ordering customer don't want the food, the same food could reach to family who are in need. Similarly shop can create connections with manufacturers of organic fertilizers so rather than throwing expired packaged food, shops can sell the same food to these companies in exchange of few bucks. Completely reducing the food wastage may not be possible but these ideas if implemented correctly can create a substantial difference in the world. One of the reason for wastage of so much food is because most of the individuals aren't aware about the gravity of the situation. There so much restaurants in New York, USA that it can take years for a person to eat a meal in every restaurants and food shop but at the same time there are many under develop countries where people don't even get a healthy meal to eat. Making few connections with correct organization by restaurants, shops can eventually minimize this food wastage.