What is aquaphobia? what are the causes? How can it be dealt with?

aquaphobia involves a level of persistent and irrational fear towards the water and water-related activities, and also is beyond the person’s control. A number of psychologists are of the opinion that the most common cause of this kind of phobia has an origin from people's childhood. Aquaphobia is often caused by a traumatic event during childhood, such as having been through a near-drowning experience. Further, the other reason can be hereditary. For instance, if a child’s parents fear something, this fear may subsequently be passed on to the child. Since phobia is a mental conflict, behavioral therapy has been proven effective for those who suffer from phobias. In this therapy method, health expert will eliminate the irrational thoughts that people have when you think about water. Besides, getting exposed to the circumstance is another way to deal with it, exposure therapy is a remedy where the patient is let to face the fears head-on. In a nutshell, aquaphobia is fear of water it has a vast of reasons but people can cope with it with the help of experts.