How to hire a new team for a growing startup without rattling the old

One of the big questions that startups face as they begin to scale is whether they should promote their own employees up to new roles or hire laterally. How should they hire these leaders? What traits should they look for? How should they manage the inevitable tensions between the newcomers and the home-grown rock stars? How does this impact the culture of the company? Hiring and assimilating laterals is a key success factor for a startup to scale smoothly. Typically, a startup begins to refresh talent after the product-market fit has been established and the founders see an opportunity to scale. By the time they reach this point in their journey, founders would have often recognized the inadequacies in the leadership team that could be an obstacle to further growth. While the early team is great at hustling and getting things done, its members often lack the ability to put in place systems to keep the ship stable as the organization scales. I will touch upon two separate but interrelated aspects of hiring and assimilating laterals. To start with, there is a tendency to be impressed by those who have the experience of scale and managing large teams. But there is a world of difference between those who have managed in a scale environment and those that can build for scale. It is important to differentiate the two and hire those who can build for scale. They have two traits that the former don’t have: a) ability to roll up their sleeves and get things done even without support structures, and b) ability to solve problems ground up. I can think of two cases where I was involved in making the wrong call. In one case, we were hiring a global head of sales and in the other, a chief operating officer (COO). In both cases, we ended up hiring individuals who were managing scale but had lost the ability to be hands on. In both cases, there were red flags all along—in the demands they made, the questions they asked, the way they steered the discussion to avoid deeper probing—but none of the individuals who interviewed the candidates raised their fears for the simple reason that there was tremendous pressure from the board to close the positions quickly. This created a false consensus of sorts because the candidates seemed so right in every other way and we made the wrong decision. Both individuals had to be let go eventually and this set back the growth journey by more than six months in each case.