How to help students with speaking difficulties

Speaking is an important skill that students always find difficult. A lot of factors contribute to such attitude. Producing ideas in a verbal outcome needs someone who has the habit of speaking, missing word here courage of expressing freely, and no fear of making mistakes. Students always prefer to write their thoughts rather than speak as they are away from encountering others face to face. Writing also gives students the time they can think a lot of their responses so that they can edit, modify, and check their correctness. Lack of the vocabulary also is missing word here of the main factors as students have no proper amount of lexicon to express what they think of. They sometimes do not know the proper use of the vocabulary. Criticism is one of the fears that hold students away from practicing speaking: they are worried of being subject to their teachers’ or their colleagues comments. Students fear of making mistakes or mumble in front of others; their image matters for them the most. They should understand that communicating what they mean is essential. They should build their confidence gradually and learn they should put more value in what they speak rather than how they speak Through my experience, I have found that topics that are not interesting to students are less inviting to them to speak. They find themselves away from inputting their thoughts as topics do not appeal to them or even have little background of. On the other hand, in big classes, each student has little time to practice and be in the mood of speaking, while there is often the dominating student that takes the biggest portion of time in speaking, the thing that gets a lot of other students in their comfort silent chairs. I also notice that shyness affects some of the students, who are sometimes amazing and super and have remarkable thoughts. In addition, Practice makes perfect. How does this sentence connect to this paragraph? Students practice speaking only with their teachers and colleagues at class but no one out. Little practice makes them see no noticeable progress. That’s why the majority of students prefer to use their mother tongue as they know it, get accustomed to it, and practice it out. Students should be urged all missing word here time to use English in speaking regardless of making mistakes. Also, students rarely listen to develop their speaking skills. Students should know that in order to speak well, they should listen a lot. They should learn how to value exchanging ideas and opinions. For me as a teacher, it is a challenge since I deal with teens, who get accustomed to a specific attitude toward speaking. What can a teacher do to improve students’ skills? First of all, I think making speaking a regular habit is the most important step that paves all the following. Using English in all school environment always works. I remember the first time I stepped to work as a teacher at a school, I insisted on using English in all students’ intercourse - inside and outside class. Actually, it was tough and jokes-inviting as students didn’t have the habit of doing so, but it worked after some time. It needs persistence and devotion. Recording what you speak and listening to it back is one of the great tools I always guide students to use. I witnessed its effect from tutoring TOEFL and IELTS. When students are obliged to speak about an issue in a specific time frame, they find it challenging. Yet, I ask students to record their answers and listen back to see their answers. Students improve when they have missing word here second chance: they find out that it can be done a better way next time. Concerning a lack of vocabulary, I find that preparing pre-word lists that tackle different aspects of the topic is helpful. I teach them before we start speaking, and students find them helpful. I urge students to use their own words and try as possible to express their thoughts since the pre-word lists are not available all the time. Also, I consider rare commenting; students are welcome to do some tiny errors related to the grammar and pronunciation. My comments are directed to maintain the topic and highlight on one or two focus rules. I tend to give the feedback after students speak in a general tips not specific or individual instruction. Giving proper praise is needed as it gives students the hope that they do great and can be better the next time. One of the tools I rely heavily on is listening. Listening to real life situations, podcasts, movies, songs, and sometimes cartoons enhances the students’ abilities to put what they hear into practice. The audible input contributes in the verbal output. In one way or another, students speak more after listening to something that motivates them to imitate. In big classes, I resort to dividing students into small groups with points to speak of. Allocating time to their discourse is a must. Picking catchy tasks and close-to-their-interests topics helps me a lot in keeping the conversation flow. Finally, building confidence in speaking is an ongoing process that needs planning, persistence, and motivation.