How to cope with stress in our life?

In the technological era, stress is a common issue to face, especially in developed and developing countries. Every individual has once struggled with this critical issue in their life. Nevertheless, before looking into how to overcome this phenomenon, we should first look into its meaning. The term stress was first used by Hans Selye in the 1920s; he noticed that even though his patients had different physical illnesses, the root cause of all their problems was an emotional trigger. Hans realized that normal body functions are impacted by something other than usual suspects, as this was an unknown cause for him; he used the phrase "General Adaptation Syndrom" to describe it. Since this definition was not very common in his conference, he borrowed a new term from physics called "Stress. " In physics, stress describes the force that produces strain on a physical body. The University of Montreal appointed Dr. Hans as their head of the stress research department. Since this phenomenon was still young, physicians have asked for new research to investigate the actual cause of this illness. John Mason, who was working with Hans, conducted an experiment in which he chose two groups of monkeys; he deprived these two groups of their food for a short time. The first group of monkeys was alone, while the second group was watching others receive food. Although both groups were experiencing hunger, the second group of monkeys produced a new hormone called "stress hormone. " While they concluded that this factor was the leading cause for this situation, the reason behind elevating this hormone was not the same. Today stress has been named the number one cause of most major illnesses such as heart diseases and hyper blood pressure. Even though medical practitioners believe that only negative changes might cause stress in the early years, it has been proved that even positive stresses can make people stressed. But how can we cope with this situation? Is it possible to reduce these hormones? Instrumental and Emotional coping are proven to be two important factors that may help those suffering from this illness. In Instrumental coping, the practitioner tries to solve the issue by focusing on the problem itself in order to solve it; however, in the emotional approach, we focus on the feeling generated by the problem; in short, we see the outcome and try to solve the matter. Different ways to face the problem; confronting, distancing (remoteness), self-control, seeking social support, accepting responsibility, escaping or avoiding (from the stressor), planning a problem-solving strategy, and positive reappraisal.