How telescope can improve our life?

The James Webb Space Telescope — humanity’s biggest gamble yet in its quest to probe the Universe — soared into space on 25 December, marking the culmination of decades of work by astronomers around the world. But for Webb to begin a new era in astronomy, as many scientists hope it will, hundreds of complex engineering steps will have to go off without a hitch in the coming days and weeks. “Now the hard part starts, ” says John Grunsfeld, an astrophysicist and former astronaut and head of science for NASA. The NASA-built Webb launched at 9: 20 a. m. local time from the Kourou spaceport in French Guiana, on an Ariane 5 rocket provided by the European Space Agency (ESA). The project’s third international partner is the Canadian Space Agency. “What an emotional day, ” said Thomas Zurbuchen, NASA's head of science, on a webcast from the launch site. "It's the beginning of one of the most amazing missions that humanity has conceived. " “I’m feeling very emotional right now after seeing something we’ve all waited for for so long finally happen, ” adds Jeyhan Kartaltepe, an astronomer at the Rochester Institute of Technology in New York who has been awarded observing time on Webb. “I am super grateful for everyone that worked so hard to make it a success. ”