How technology has affected out lives

Time goes by really fast. It seems like it was yesterday. I remember coming back home from the store with my brand new computer. It, actually, wasn’t my first computer but this was the one I browsed the Internet on for the first time. It felt like magic. I was one click away from reaching people from all over the world. This was really exciting. Internet speeds were not as fast as they are today but whenever a new page loaded on the screen, it felt like a world of possibilities had just popped up right before my eyes. We didn’t fall in love with every aspect of this new experience straightaway, though. At first, it felt a little weird to scroll pages up and down on a screen instead of turning the pages of a book. Exploring this new world was like going on a little adventure and everything that was achieved or done was a first time. I can still recall downloading songs on Napster, talking to friends on ICQ, , converting files from one format to another, installing a new piece of software, sweeping the computer for viruses and the list goes on and on. As in every relationship we’ve also had our ups and downs with computers. They seem to let us down just when we need them the most. I’ve had to face all kinds of technical glitches: a mouse that wouldn’t work properly, a computer that would start running slowly because we forgot to free up space on the memory, a screen would freeze and we would have to reboot the computer but there were times in which computers were not to be blamed. A friend of mine once clicked on a suspicious link and somebody hacked into his computer. The Corporate world has also gone through some huge changes over the last 20 years. Apart from Microsoft, the other members of “The Big Five” were nothing but little start-ups back in the early two thousands. Many wouldn’t have bet on a company called Google or another on called Facebook back in 2000, for instance. Yet, these companies have grown and have driven some major changes in our society. They are not just part of our lives but also of our vocabulary, nowadays we “google” everything from restaurants to a potential romantic attachment. New technologies have also posed us in interesting question. Has the present lived up to the expectations we had in the past? If we think of the 1985-blockbuster Back to the Future, the answer would be no. After all, we haven’t got flying cars yet. Still, movies may not be the best parameter. While we were enjoying movies 20 years ago, some of the brightest minds were trying to imagine what the world would be like 20, 30 and even 50 years ahead. These visionaries were all after “the next big idea”. Their dreams and vision have shaped today’s world. I guess it is safe to say that the best is still to come, the possibilities are endless and we will have to wait and see how new technologies will keep improving our lives.