How Social Media Has Changed Us

Nowadays most people can’t conceive a life without any form of social media despite the fact that twenty years ago everybody seemed completely fine without it. While it may be obvious that we’re very used to our digital devices and are enjoying the convenience of having them in our day-to-day life, it goes easily unnoticed how much social media has truly changed us. Firstly the way we interact with each other has changed, because of social media. For instance, a few years ago it was a lot harder to touch base with acquaintances, colleagues, friends and family. Whereas nowadays if somebody’s not available at the moment, which everybody seems to be 24/7, you can easily leave a voicemail, send them a text, or even direct message them on Facebook, Instagram, etc. . For this reason, the easy accessibility that is, a lot of people seem to catch up with each other a lot more frequently than they used to, even if it’s a casual »good morning! « text. Additionally to this, there is also the possibility that not only people that you know in real life will leave comments on your page but also strangers. Due to the anonymity on the internet, some people tend to leave rather harsh, unsightly and cruel comments, simply because they feel safe and like there won’t be any consequences for their actions. The best way to deal with these so-called trolls is to simply ignore them and not take any offense to their hateful comments. A lot of social media apps also take cyberbullying rather seriously and offer the option to block the user and also to report them. Taking all this into account it is obvious that things have changed, partly for the better and partly for the worse. On the one hand, it is due to social media much easier to catch up with friends and family but on the other hand, some people seem to forget that another human being will receive their hateful comments. For this reason and many others, it is very important to take a break from social media from time to time and to get out there and enjoy real life.