How RNAV Approach has changed the instrumental flight

Since the beginning of the instrument flight, we’re always been used to referring to the precision approach by talking about ILS, but lately, new technologies have been developed and the RNAV approach has been born, nowadays it is known as the PBN approach. Why we should fly a PBN approach rather than an ILS approach? Although ILS is precise and it’s able to guide aeroplanes until the touchdown zone, it has some drawbacks. For instance, ILS signal could be disturbed by any device able to transmit radio waves with a similar frequency to ILS. And these devices are very common; for instance, every radio FM transmits music on a range of frequency VHF, which is the same range of frequency used by ILS. Another problem could be the terrain surrounding the airport, but also building could create a problem. As we know ILS beam has a length equal to 18 NM, and its angle is width +-35° from the runway centreline within 10NM and it is width +-10° from 10NM up to 18NM. All this area must be clear of obstacles otherwise it could create interference on the signal. These interferences on the ILS signal could lead to false indications on the pilot instrument which could create an important threat, especially during IMC flight. For this reason, the PBN approach has been developed. These are approaches based on the GPS for this reason we sort out our position through the satellites. This type of approach doesn’t have any kind of interference, differently from ILS, and they are as reliable in precision as the ILS, due to the augmentation system. The most precise PBN approach is the LPV. It’s utterly based on satellites signal, but to improve his precision, it takes advantage of SBAS, which reduce any error to the minimum. A big advance of this type of approach is that the indication on the pilot instruments resembles the ILS indication, so pilots need only a little course to be able to fly a PBN approach.