HOW PHARMACEUTICAL COMPANIES INFLUENCE DOCTOR’S PRESCRIBING HABITS AND PATIENT’S MEDICAL TREATMENT

Medical treatments have a remarkable influence in doctor prescription and the consumption of the pharmaceutical companies. It is probably no surprise that drugs companies spend billions annually on influencing prescribers. To begin with, many sales representatives visit individual doctors to make a direct marketing by giving brief information about their products and bringing some small gifts (usually less than 100 dollars). Today the method seems to change when these gifts typically are educational materials or small medical devices that the doctors can use when seeing patient or benefit for patient. Besides, instead of buying gifts, there is a wide collaboration between doctors, drugs prescribers and the companies which can easily be seen – a health conference or workshop. A seminar with a legit doctors can create a substantial attraction which can be useful in marketing the new products and bring it closer to the consume markets. Moreover, some companies even provide the opportunity to do chemistry experiment and research medicine for hospital to enlarge the chances for their products to get involve in the prescriptions. The overuse of detailed marketing for doctors and drugs prescribers leads to a wide range of effect for not only patient’s treatment but also the healthy competition among pharmaceutical companies. First of all, by taking advantages of funding doctors, the overprescribing situation become a widely significant issue that affect the process of treating. Prescribing too much needless medicine and supplements will increase the cost of treatment, which is breeding the unaffordable for patients to approach the useful treating products. This problem can take away the chances for people who are unable to pay for fees to receive the suitable treatment services. In addition, some companies which are merely focusing on researching and preparing in laboratory are scarcely to achieve the opportunity to approach customers and providers. In conclusion, it is essential for doctors and prescribers to have a clearly considerable sightline in the pharmaceutical market so that they can provide for their patients the best treatment with the best products.