How Lunar New Year is celebrated?

Vietnamese Lunar New Year is the most significant and widely celebrated public festival in the S-shaped country. Everyone in Vietnam looks forward to Tet because of its priceless spiritual value. The Tet festival often occurs at the end of January or the beginning of February. It is the occasion for Vietnamese to express their respects for ancestors as well as an occasion for everyone to get together in a warm atmosphere. Most people have some days off for this holiday with family after a working hard year. Those who work far away will return to their homeland to reunite with their families. Before Tet, the Vietnamese prepare many things for the three main days. First, people frequently clean their houses, the altar and repaint the wall. Besides, they also buy new clothes, furniture, etc. The branches of peach or apricot blossoms are decorated with flash colorful lights in the living room. Moreover, many Vietnamese prepare for Tet by cooking special holiday foods which are extremely delicious and contain the culinary culture in Vietnam, such as Chung cake, coconut jams, and pickled onions. There are many interesting activities that happen during Tet. For instance, the young often go out to watch firework performances at the countdown moment of New Year’s Eve while the adults stay at home making worshipping the ancestors to pray for a new year of health and luck to every family member. Besides, luck money is an indispensable part of every Tet holiday. Adults often wish kids success in education by giving children a small amount of money. The Tet holiday has been remaining as a vital festival in Vietnam because of its priceless traditions, customs, and meaning. I always feel proud and excited whenever I introduce to international friends about the Tet festival.