How is food security becoming concern in presidential speech?

The new Corona Virus (Covid-19) caught off guard against people around the world. The virus has infected the folks regardless of the border, countries where they live. Many death tolls are increasing every day as the virus replicates faster than the body’s immune. Seeing it is happening, there is no excuse for disobeying health protocols or government advice as they intend to help us survive at this time. Even though few people perceive the pandemic as a usual thing — no need to gain more awareness and prevention — people shall be alert and aware of the virus, as our president said in his speech to all ministers. Not all people prefer to change. Some resist progression as they feel not comfortable adapting to change. In the old-time, the element of ecosystems works effectively without any threats. Those are functioning in harmony without disruptions and delays; food, services, energy, supply chain, health, transportation, and communication. Unfortunately, this new time implies some delays in the supply chain, a gap between supply and demand, and financial problems that almost happened in many businesses. As a response, the governments mandate the citizens to keep practicing physical distancing and other protocols during the pandemic. Respectively, the policy will soon embark on a new journey (the new normal) that aims to adjust our daily activities and habits in every element of life. The new normal gives directions on how to conduct every aspect of life to be healthier and safer for life. Along with the new policy, citizens should align their activities based on permits in the new normal. Simultaneously, it is soon to be a wake-up call for citizens to implement food security. Food security refers to people’s ability to fulfill their basic needs while survive and bounce back from a difficult time. Food security became a focus in some countries in 2007–2008 amid the international food crisis, as those countries sought to buffer themselves from volatility on world food markets. Thailand is a country that successfully adopted this philosophy in the reign of King Rama IX. The development showed in many sectors like education, social, economics, and others. The philosophy of a sufficiency economy has led Thailand to tackle the food crisis at that time. If I understand correctly, some Indonesian are implementing the same idea currently. Many people start farming, use space in the house to produce vegetables and fruits to meet their daily needs. Not just stopping there, the community is also becoming very creative to try new techniques in farming. They tried to plant water spinach with catfish, using used water pipes for hydroponics, and others. This idea might not arise if we still live in the old time (where the new normal has not begun yet). As a result, it has created farming organizations in the city: a community in Central Java has even been successfully helping its fellow members in need. The above align with the expectations of the government amid this pandemic. During the challenges of the food crisis — Indonesian, especially households — still adhere to the values of economic sufficiency. The community has strengthened the economy by minimizing export. Moreover, they have supported government missions in accelerating progress, embracing, and helping others in the pandemic crisis.