How have you contributed to solving a challenge to implementing change or reform?

This issue related to a client who executed a Foreign Exchange Spot deal (Buy USD 8, 252, 565/Sell IDR 120, 569, 986, 338) in 2020 by using the list of invoices as the underlying document. A client has the privilege to submit only the list of invoices at the latest on Spot’s value date. Besides, they responsible for administrating actual invoices when requested by the Bank. Firstly, I am responsible for performing a random sampling of the list of invoices and requiring actual invoices for the upcoming month as a control process. When I chose this client as a sample, I found mismatch data between a list of invoices and actual invoices as well as duplicate invoices. Secondly, I found that most of all the invoices already paid before Spot’s value date. As a result, the Bank was at risk fined 1% of the deal or a maximum IDR 1 billion from the regulator. To solve this issue, I led a Financial Markets Operation Team consisting of 5 people to communicate with the client to provide the appropriate underlying document. After further investigation, the root cause was a knowledge gap due to a client’s Treasury Team who provided invoices based in India. Hence, I took the initiative to work together with the team to educate the client and create a mini-guideline that summarizes Indonesia’s regulatory requirements. I also collaborated with the Relationship Manager Team to require them to revise the document. Furthermore, I proposed to the Compliance Team as a Risk Owner to reform the control process where clients who used a list of invoices must provide actual invoices at least on the Spot’s value date. Otherwise, the client’s deal will be unexecuted. Finally, my proposed action plan has been approved by the Compliance Team. I have successfully changed the existing control process and helped the Bank to mitigate the risk exposure. Also, after we educated the client, they have shown a clear understanding and complied with local regulatory requirements on the next transaction.