How has globalisation had an impact on Vietnam? 5

Globalization can be understood as a process of people and countries exchanging information and goods together. At present, it has occured and spread rapidly in many countries around the world. In Vietnam, globalization has significantly impacted on different aspects, especially cuisine and the economy. Globalization has greatly influenced cuisine in Vietnam in some ways. In recent years, Vietnam has attracted a number of people all around the world to come and live here. These people have brought cuisines from their countries to Vietnam. For instance, In Vietnamese cuisine, people are accustomed to a variety of local specialities like pho, banh mi, banh xeo for centuries. However, these days, there are many different foreign restaurants on every street in Vietnam. Vietnamese people not only can enjoy a lot of delicious dishes from foreign cuisines such as spaghetti, beefsteak and kimbap there, but they also can easily purchase food which is imported from other countries at the supermarket. These things show that globalization has made Vietnamese cuisine more diversified. Globalization not only affects cuisine but also the Vietnamese economy. Vietnam used to be an undeveloped country focusing on agriculture; however, in the period of globalization, Vietnam has become a developing country focusing on industry. Nowadays, many big multinational corporations have realized that Vietnam is a huge potential market. Therefore, they invest in setting up companies and building factories here. For instance, Samsung built factories to produce smartphones in the north of Vietnam, Intel Group set up a big factory in Ho Chi Minh city to produce computer chips. These activities have created many high-quality job opportunities for people, which has a positive impact on the economy of Vietnam. In sum, globalization is an extremely important process that contributes to the development of Vietnam and many other countries as well. The world grows closer together and people have a lot of chances to exchange knowledge, skills, and culture to be better. Therefore, people need to learn more to be global citizens who can adapt to the new fast-changing world.