how fashion kills us, advantades and disadvantages of fashion industry

Due to the social vertical blurring more and more people are gaining the opportunity to choose what they’re wearing. But even today, despite having that will, they still try to look the way that those who present these clothes do. This forces them to follow that ideal image, instead of expressing their true selves. We believe that even though fashion is a form of art, that focuses on projecting artists ideas, this sphere has a negative impact, which may be seen in cases of mental dysfunctions that shorten humans’ lifespan. It’s obvious that an increase in the number of mental illnesses has never been the goal of fashion. The problem, represented in the introduction occurred as a consequence of certain fashion industry needs, which are mainly certain physical parameters of people, who represent clothes. Moreover, psychological problems always consist of a complex of reasons, such as different traumas, social disadvantages, and high proportion of stress, received daily etc. In simpler terms, if person has mental dysfunctions, there are complex reasons behind it, and fashion may not even be among them. However, I personally believe that the lack of representatives of certain social and ethnical groups, members of which have the appearance which are different from the appearance of an average model, makes people think that they have no other ways to be happy, but trying to be like ones, that represent their favorite clothes. It makes people go against their nature, which is already unhealthy and destructive. More than that, the standards of beaty set by fashion often result in bullying and condemnation of those, who don’t match. Consequences of those kind may not cause mental illnesses of those, who are offended, but may also result in much more tragic events, such as suicides or acts of terrorism. In conclusion, the fashion industry, whether desirable or not, sets the standards of beaty, which lack variety. This sometimes may lead to adverse events, which may result in cases of mental dysfunctions and their consequences that make humans’ life shorter.