Many students take a year off after graduating from university to travel or pursue their hobbies before they take a job. Why do they do that? Is this a good development?

Working is and will always be an intrinsic component to people’s well-being. However, a rising trend among many students is taking a gap year to enjoy themselves before they start their career. This essay will discuss the relevant causes of this tendency and consider whether it is positive or negative. To begin with, there are several factors that lead to this phenomenon. The fact remains that most students have to work under immense pressure at school and after graduation, they do need some recreation to compensate for the long period of hard work. For instance, some students in Vietnam admit that they never have a long vacation without any concerns in three or four years because of pressure from peers and from tests. The second cause of this practice is the burning desire of young people to explore the world. To be more specific, there is a sense among the youth that real experiences with nature and friends bring to them a sense of satisfaction and through such journeys, they may even discover who they are and what they should do for the rest of their lives. Evidence from various studies gives substance to the argument that valuable lessons can be learnt from the outside world. Some young people from Western countries travel to Asian nations and soon discover the mission of their lives, influencing their choice of career directly. Above all, the key reason is the good preparation in all aspects that people may attain after this gap year before they start to enter the workplace. With regard to the effects of this trend, it is generally held that this practice results in several merits. First of all, this period allows students to recover and get back energy for their upcoming plans with intense competition and hard work. From a motivational perspective, the time to pursue one’s passion is of great help to their mental health and spirit so that they can work more effectively. Only by discovering themselves through journeys with friends and experiencing up and down can people truly find their goal and plans for the future. Many Vietnamese students stated in an interview that the experiences with volunteer work during the gap year were precious for their career later on. Some people even think that this time is the only opportunity they have to follow their pastime. However, the trend may pose some challenges when students forget a lot of knowledge they learnt at school. No matter what people do or where they live, they should have a job to earn their own living and contribute to their community. Some students from the UK started out majoring in finance and banking but ended up working as English teachers in Vietnam basically because they like to travel in Asian nations. More seriously, some may feel lazy and just want to relax instead of getting a serious job after this gap year. In conclusion, the gap year is undoubtedly a rational choice for some students provided that they can benefit from it. However, this step should be perceived as a preparation for people before they start a new journey with new dreams and plans.