A school of thought holds that tourism should be banned in order to protect local culture, while the other alternative stance asserts that there is no use in prohibiting tourists. This essay is going to

A school of thought holds that tourism should be banned in order to protect local culture, while the other alternative stance asserts that there is no use in prohibiting tourists. This essay is going to discuss both views of the argument and explain why I agree with the latter perspective. Granted, one might agree that banning tourism is a feasible method of preserving national identity. The frequent exposure of local residents to exotic lifestyles, dressing manners or taste of entertainment can result in a complete shift of people’s mindset. For instance, if a teenage student was exposed to foreign music on a daily basis, he/she would ignore national folk songs and those traditional values would probably be rocked into oblivion. Besides, when local citizens absorb newly introduced lifestyles from oversea tourists, they may start to reject their own culture and have a strong bias towards foreign trends. Thus, without tourism, people’s interaction with novel lifestyles might not exist and traditional culture can be fully preserved. In contrast, this reason is not sound since people are able to change owing to the exposure of different kinds of communications. Local residents might update new information via mainstream media namely TV, newspaper and the internet in order that their lifestyles would be reformed someday. Hence, it is unreasonable to say that tourism is the main factor that deteriorates local culture and values. Banning tourists from visiting our country can actually have a negative impact on our nation. Were foreign people not come to our country, the profits made from tourism can decline significantly so the national economy would be damaged in a certain extent. Moreover, banning tourism even causes unemployment among local residents of the traditional crafts village. People cannot sell their hand-made products or any traditional souvenirs to visitors and this might result in an alarming unemployment rate among residents in our country. In conclusion, banning tourism is not an optimal method to preserve the local culture of the country since people can change their lifestyles when exposing too much to social media platforms. Furthermore, if tourism was prohibited in our nation, many negative repercussions that demand governmental support would exist.