How does traffic jams affect our lives?

According to a study, Vietnam is the country with second - highest motorbike Usage in the world after Thailand. There are approximately 45 million motorbikes in the country, with 86% of the households owning at least one. The reason for this high figure is people's high demand in using private transports especially motorbikes. However, this leads to not only traffic jams in urban cities but also a number of environmental issues such as air and noise pollution. Traffic jam occurs when all vehicles on the road are totally halted for an extended length of time. This is a common problem in the transport network due to the increasing vehicles and overuse of roads. Therefore, people's lives are greatly impacted by traffic jams. It is one of the most serious difficulties that residents in big cities face on a daily basis. People experience delays to work especially during morning rush hour. This may even result in unproductive work as well as economic losses. It is also the primary source of fuel waste and air pollution. In the long run, it can lead to serious health problems. For instance, pollutants that come from vehicles such as nitrogen oxides, carbon monoxide can penetrate deep into our respiratory and circulatory system, damage our lungs, hearts and brains, and cause lung irritation, etc. . . Traffic jams can also have a negative impact on people's feelings and lead to conflicts because of excessive noise pollution. The first easiest and practical solution is to use public transport like busses, subways or even bikes. By starting this new hobby among people, pollution from cars, trucks, motorbikes, etc can be reduced considerably. In addition, we can prevent traffic jams too often. Clean vehicle and fuel technologies is another possible solution. They provide us with an affordable and available approach of lowering transportation related air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. Clean fuels that emit less - pollutants, and electric cars and trucks can completely eliminating tailpipe emissions are just a few examples. From my perspective, improving conditions of the roads isn't a good idea. Since it may take quite a long time and they need to block the roads to finish fixing them, there can be more traffic jams than usual. Therefore, each road should be built with the highest quality possible from the beginning to minimize risks. Since traffic jam has become an urgent problem lately, the government should raise more attention for it in order to create more high quality life for people. Besides that, each of us need to consciously use public transports more often as well as encourage people around at us to do the same thing.