ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF PASSING GUN CONTROL LAWS

Whether gun control laws should be passed or not is a very controversial issue. Before deciding to pass gun control laws or not, people should consider the advantages and disadvantages of these laws. Passing gun control laws has both advantages and disadvantages for people that need to be taken into account. To begin with, there are some benefits of passing gun control laws for people. First of all, guns have a greater chance of falling into the hands of kids due to legalized gun ownership; furthermore, unfortunately, this situation can cause some deadly accidents. Secondly, according to studies, the rate of suicide is much higher with gun availability due to the fact that it is easier to act immediately on your impulses when there is a gun. On the other hand, passing gun control laws has several disadvantages for people. Firstly, black markets for guns will develop; as a result of this situation, criminals will obtain their guns from black markets. However, law-abiding citizens cannot obtain their guns and they will not have any weapons to use in defense. In addition, crimes can be prevented by the deterrent effect of the possibility of victim gun possession. As I mentioned above, by passing gun control laws, law-abiding citizens cannot obtain their guns and the possibility of victim gun possession will decrease. To sum up, passing gun control laws has both benefits and downsides for people. Therefore, these advantages and disadvantages must be considered before deciding to pass gun control laws or not.