How does Bich feel about her Vietnamese name?

The story “America Ruined My Name for Me” By Beth Nguyen is about how a Vietnamese girl felt about her name when moved to America with the name Bich. Beth tells us about the decision to change her name and the impact that personal names have on her in America. Bich is an ordinary name in Vietnam but in America it is a different story. Bich can easily pronounce her name but her classmates or other people around her are different. She felt her Vietnamese name was a barb, a shame. Specifically, “The other kids would decorate their names with stars and hearts; they would try to make their names look bigger than everyone else’s. The sight of their names gave them pleasure and satisfaction. I have never felt this pleasure, not once. Not even with publications. To me, my name has been a taunt. I’m always trying not to look at it. ” She felt more comfortable with her name “Beth” because the pressure on the name “Bich” is getting out of her mind. When Bich change her name to “Beth” it feels like “cool air from the refrigerator on a hot day”. It feels likes she is a new person, no more pressure, no more shame. For instance, “And, in that moment, it felt real: I wasn’t just saying Beth—I was Beth. So I started to say it more. To salespeople. To babysitters, electricians, new acquaintances, new colleagues. I’d say Beth, and a tiny blast of joy, like cool air from the refrigerator on a hot day, would come over me. Like a secret self. Like another life. ” As you can see, Bich feels her name is a barb, a shame, but she feels comfortable, less pressure about changing her name to beth