How can governments encourage people to take more exercise?

It is generally accepted that people today take insufficient exercise. This, combined with a poor diet, can lead to ill health and a poor quality of life. In view of this, it has been suggested that governments should act to encourage more exercise. I shall consider two of the proposed methods. Probably the most important action governments could take would be to introduce an education programme into all schools. In addition to publicising the benefits of exercise, this would make exercise a compulsory part of the school curriculum and get young people used to following an exercise regime. In my view, however, for this to be truly successful, there should be a corresponding programme aimed at adults. If parents took part in an exercise programme put on by the school, they would be supporting what their children were being taught. It has been suggested that if exercise facilities were free, there would be an increased public take-up. In theory, this seems an excellent way of encouraging adults to exercise, but in practice I am doubtful. It is based on the assumption that exercise depends on money, whereas in fact walking and cycling, two very effective ways of keeping fit, are free and can be fitted conveniently into most people's daily routine. Therefore, in my opinion, providing expensive extra facilities is unnecessary and would be a misuse of public money. In view of the above arguments, I believe governments should introduce education programmes aimed at people of all ages because this is the most cost-effective means of achieving the desired goal.