How can early access to technology affect the development of children?

The evolution of technology plays an essential role in our society. Besides having positive impacts, technology exerts a number of negative influences on people, especially children. Impacting on physical health and approaching to bad contents are the results of children’s early access to technology. The first negative effect is weakening children’s physical health become weak. When children use technology, the high-energy visible light which releases from the screen is harmful to their eyes. Children always keep their eyes closed and utilize technology for a long period, which makes them susceptible to short-sightedness. In addition, the light from the screen also affects the condition of skin and may cause premature aging in fact. According to a research, in Vietnam, the rate of short-sightedness among children is about 20-60% depending on age, in which it is estimated that nearly 3 million children aged 0-15 years suffer from refractive errors because of excessive use of smartphone or television. Thus, technology is weakening their physical health including their eyes.