Housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences.Some people think only government action can solve this problem.To what wextent do tou agree and disagree!

Big cities act as magnets for everyone. Therefore, it is increasingly difficult for ordinary people to have somewhere to call home in big cities due to housing shortage, especially the lack of affordable housing. Some people think only government has the power to solve this problem. I disagree with this statement. I believe that in addition to the government, people in the real estate sector and ordinary people can also do a lot to mitigate. There is no doubt that the government has a major role in alleviating the problem of housing shortage is the most pronounced. Secondly, housing goes hand in hand with other government objectives, such as poverty reduction and employment generation. Thus, the resources for one scheme can be shared with those of other schemes. For example, in India, the government promotes both housing and employment by giving jobs to local masons and construction workers. However, governments is not solely responsible to address the issue of housing. The real estate companies can also address the issue of housing shortage in many ways. They are experts in the building and construction sector, and they can assist the government in providing low cost housing. For instance, in places where the houses made by the goverment have not proved upto the mark, there these companies can step in and fill the void. In this way, they can improve their image and also fulfil the housing deficit. In places where these housing companies have provided low cost housing, slum areas have stopped developing further and this has improved the situation considerably. People also have a responsibility to help the government in addressing the problem of housing shortage. They must see to it that if government is taking steps, then they also proactively back the government. For instance, when governments come out with housing schemes, people should come forward and invest in those. As governments do not have the financial capital to address the housing requirement completely, so if people come forward then the problem can be addressed faster and better. To conclude, it is irrefutable that governments have a major role in providing low cost housing, but the real estate companies and people themselves can definitely back them. So, it would be wrong to say that only governments can solve the issue.