Housing is essential for people. Some argue that the government should offer free housing for people who cannot afford it. To what extent Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Accommodation is vital in providing stability to individuals, and for this reason, some school of thought are of the perception that shelter be made available at no cost to humans who cannot afford it. I partially agree and disagree with this notion for a number of reasons. On the one hand, issuing shelters to homeless individuals enhance safety and security. A vast majority of hoodlums and thugs are human beings without homes who have found solace in residing on the street. These individuals, overtime, learn how to disrupt the peace of their neighborhood by breaking laws and causing violent act such as stealing, gambling and fighting; which could even lead to loss of lives. For this reason, providing them with suitable apartments at no cost would tremendously decrease such crimes by reducing the number of people residing on the street. For instance, during the #EndSars protest held in Nigeria, in 2020, many businesses were vandalized and looted by hoodlums later identified to be homeless thugs making entrepreneurs loose their investment. This clearly depicts why I strongly feel free housing is necessary for poor people. On the other hand, allocating homes freely to individuals would reduce revenue generated by government agencies. One major method of generating funds used to effectively manage an economy is by collecting tax from various economical sectors such as housing. This implies that the income received by the authorities would drastically decline after giving houses freely to individuals and this can have a negative effect on other more pressing needs in the society such as healthcare or food. Furthermore, landed properties required for constructing industries and estate with the aim of generating funds for the society, would be diverted into building homes, thereby further reducing societal income. To conclude, I partially agree that houses should be given without charge to homeless people because although it can help boost safety and security levels in an economy, it can also drastically reduce the earnings of a society.