Homework in children's education

Though it is believed that homework may drags children in their education, I beg to differ as I believe it also plays an important role in education of children. When teachers explain a concept to children, some children might understand the concept immediately, while some children might need more time to comprehend this. This is where homework can hone the children's understanding of the concept taught by teachers. While in school, teachers might give examples and explanation as the base, children can explore furthermore by doing their homework. Homework could be the follow up exercise that the children need, where their understanding is put to the test. There is no teacher to tell them right or wrong yet, and they can freely think up a solution based on the concept the teacher explained at school. For example, a teacher could explain a formula and how it works. But, by doing an exercise using that formula, the children would understand how to apply the formula and get the concept without having others to trigger them. On the other hand, if the homework is given excessively, it won't serve its' true purpose. Children won't understand fully the concept of each lesson as they might just copy the answers to finish the homework. It would also affect children's well-being as they could stay up late to finish up. In these cases, their only focus is to finish the homework, not understanding the lesson that they actually need to comprehend. In my opinion, if done adequately, homework would be a great tool in children's eduction. However, anything done excessively truly won't do us any good.