Higher mammals such as monkeys are often used in laboratory experiments. Give reason for and against using animals in this way?

It is true that in recent years experimentation on animals have drastically increased, and many people think that it is cruel and unnecessary. Although, there are few drawbacks of using animals in laboratory, I believe the advantage certainly outweigh them. The first benefit is that animals are physiologically similar to humans so scientist can test whether the vaccine is harmful or safe before testing it on humans and starting commercial production. For example, the vaccine for novel corona virus was first tested on a monkey, it showed some promising effects, and later went into commercial production. Since these mammals are in abundance, scientist can perform large number of test to ascertain the efficacy of drug. Secondly, without prior test on animals, blood transfusion, organ transplant, and cure for many diseases would not exist at all. On other hand, animal right activists say that there is enough information already. They complain that monkeys are tied up and kept in cramped cages without food and water. The pain and suffering they go through is enormous. Few individuals also believe that we can develop drugs using computer and computer modeling. For instance, there is ongoing research on development of anticancer drug with the help of computer modelling. To summarize, I would like to reiterate that while there are few disadvantages on this topic, I believe that advantages are far more.