high unemployment rate is a serious social issue in many countries. Discuss some causes and effects of high unemployment rate

Unemployment is an economic condition in which individuals actively seeking jobs remain un-hired. The problem of unemployment is a world-wide reality; the developed countries, as well as the developing countries, suffer from it. With the passage of time, it has become worse especially after the global economic crisis, and it has become a threat to social development, whilst consideration must be given to global economics. There are four main causes of unemployment. Firstly, the increased population leads to higher unemployment rates. As the number of people who are looking for jobs is increasing, it is more difficult to arrange jobs for all these huge numbers of workers. In this situation, the demand for workers will be more than the available occupations. This will result in an increased number of unemployed individuals. An unemployment situation continues as long as the demand-supply gap persists. This is very obvious in countries like China and India. There is a global rapid technological change that plays a big role in the increased unemployment problem. Many jobs which were handled by hands are being done by different machines and technology nowadays. The new advanced technology replaced the low-skilled or unskilled workers in different factories. This made production faster and more accurate, but it resulted in more unemployed people. For example; when personal computers replaced typewriters, typewriters become unemployed and had to find other industries to be employed in. The third cause of unemployment is a lack of education or skills for employment. This happens when the qualifications of a person are not sufficient to meet his job responsibilities. If the education was not directed towards the labor market then a mismatch occurs thus leading to structural unemployment. These individuals face difficulties in learning new skills applicable for the required job e. g. computer skills, management, and communication. In conclusion, there are different causes of unemployment around the world. The top causes are increased population, rapid technological change, lack of education or skills, and rising costs. The various effects of unemployment include financial, social, and psychological problems. Unemployment has become a major problem that affects our life, health, economy, and community. So countries should build more companies and factories in order to provide more opportunities and positions to respond to the need of the increased population. Moreover, there should be unemployment insurance to help unemployed individuals with their financial problems till they find a job. It is important also to utilize vocational education along with other skills courses’ in order to prompt the education and skills of the workers to meet the labor market need.