Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even during the holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

With advancements in technology, it is now possible to connect to people anytime and anywhere, because of which most workplaces expect their employees to remain in touch with them, even on their personal time. While this practice may initially seem to be beneficial, it has far-reaching negative effects which cannot be overlooked. It could be favorable for employers to have round-the-clock access to their people. This is because services of some professionals could be essential and time-sensitive, such as doctors and defence personnel, which could have an effect on people’s health and safety. In addition, clients might only want to deal with certain people, as they possess desired knowledge and skills or with whom they have a long-term relationship, due to which people’s absence could result in business loss. Moreover, organizations might want to urgently deal with situtations, since delaying them can cause escalation, which could be challenging and expensive for them to handle later on. Thus, management being able to connect with their employees can be beneficial. However, interrupting working professionals at their leisure time will present many issues. Most importantly, it will create pressure for employees to invest large amounts of time in their jobs, so they would be left with no time for themselves and their loved ones, which would cause people frustration with their workplaces. Furthermore, when employees do not take breaks from their work, they get mentally and physically exhausted, which results in loss of productivity. Not only does working constantly reduces people’s efficiency, but it also deteriorates their health, as they develop anxiety and stress amongst many other illnesses, because of monotonous routines. Hence, it would be harmful for employees to be in constant contact with their work. In conclusion, it is evident that while it may appear advantageous for employers and employees to be in continuous communication, it will have grave impact on the well-being of workers. If corporations want their work force to perform to the best of their abilities, they should ensure that employees have good work-life balance.