Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

The idea of a wealthy and glamorous lifestyle is so attractive for most people, especially youngsters. Nowadays, being in the spotlight exhibiting luxurious possessions and fortune have become more important than professional and personal achievements, due to which, some people think that this could set a negative effect on young generations. It is essential to make people famous by their outstanding accomplishments rather than by their luxurious lifestyles in order to set a better example for such individuals. Influencers and celebrities portray a fake idea of perfect lifestyles, which has the power to change young people’s values and behaviour. This is because, they want to have the looks of popular influencers, such as Kylie Jenner or Kim Kardashian, due to which, they will have a frustrating idea of body perfection. Subsequently, most of them will try to follow their behaviour, for example, eating exactly what they have for lunch every day, which will affect their self-esteem and body image. Consequently, most youngsters will suffer from eating disorders, such as anorexia, due to the constant fake body types portrayed on social media. Thus, social media and TV celebrities have a huge impact on young individual’s behaviour. Some TV shows reflect controversial and toxic relationships as acceptable, which influence young viewer’s attitudes. Most importantly, most TV shows portray a lot of drama on young couples or even on fraternal relationships, for example on reality shows such as Big Brother, which distorts viewer’s perception of reality. As a result, most young people will misbehave towards their parents and friends, because they will think what they see on TV is correct. Due to this, they will develop aggressive behaviours and will create a lot of drama out of simple situations. Therefore, the reality reflected on TV will definitely affect them. In conclusion, it is evident that celebrities that reflect fame and fortune instead of their personal and professional accomplishments will have a negative impact on young people’s behaviour, values and attitudes. If influencers were more focused on exhibiting their achievements on social media and TV, they would be a better example for future generations.