High-rise buildings destroy the character of a city. Not only should new ones be banned but existing ones should be demolished and replaced with smaller buildings. Use examples from your own knowledge and experience.

While many people believe that the character of a city has been destroyed by having a lot of skyscrapers, I disagree with this point because advanced techniques in construction can preserve traditional culture. Also, the character of a city does not always represent by concrete materials. The first point to consider is that modern design buildings including high-rise skyscrapers can be combined with traditional culture and character. The advanced of technologies in various aspects such as architecture, raw materials, and construction provide ability to preserve culture for a skyscraper. For example, there is a high-rise hotel building in Thailand that is constructed by multiple pieces of glass to make it as a shape of a traditional Thai greeting posture called “Wai”. This is a great example which demonstrated how a skyscraper can preserve culture. High-rise buildings do not destroy the character of a city. Instead, it helps retaining culture and acts as a bridge between vintage and modern culture. Another consideration is that the character of a city could come from the people in that city. It does not always come from materials such as skyscrapers. Fundamentally, we need a proper definition of character. This can be a lifestyle of people such as busy, polite, lazy, calm, and other behaviours. The best example of this is Ho Chi Minh city in Vietnam where there are plenty of old-style small buildings and high-rise buildings situate together. However, the local people are still using motorbikes as a primary method of transportation as well as this city still has heavy number of motorbikes. This instance illustrates us that the character of a city does not always come from concrete materials, so, having more skyscrapers does not always mean losing of the character of a city. In conclusion, I disagree that having more high-rise buildings will ruin the traditional culture and the character of a city. They can be represented from other aspects such as people, environment and lifestyle which are not relevant to concrete materials such as buildings at all.