Here is a band 8 IELTS essay sample submitted by one of our students. Send us your writing samples for a free band score estimate or get a detailed analysis of your writing for a fee.

Proper nutrition is the cornerstone of wellbeing. Many opine that a government should be blamed for the high rate of obesity among children. I partially agree with this statement, however, parents have the same amount of obligations to their children. To begin with, a government must care about people’s health because they are supposed to improve living conditions of citizens. Nowadays the majority of companies add sugar in all types of food in order to make more attractive for customers. A government is the only force that can ban using redundant amount of sweeteners. Due to researches conducted by the World Health Organization, over 60% of people suffer from obesity because modern food is extremely high in calories. To exemplify, schools canteen did not have wending machines with junk snacks, which are extremely appealing for kids. Parents, on the flip side, are responsible as well because upbringing is a blueprint of children’s future life. Children watch their parents and learn from them, so a wise parenting about nutrition may prevent eating disorders. Parents must find the time to cook proper meals for their children. Conversely, if one experienced lack of knowledge, he would probably have a poor diet. In conclusion, both the government and the parents can play an important role in controlling childhood obesity. The government should regulate the food industry and parents should serve healthy home cooked meals.