Healthcare management in Nigeria

My desire to pursue a Master's program in the Department of Healthcare Administration at the University of Iowa is born out of a burning desire to garner requisite knowledge needed in effecting the needed changes I crave to see in the Nigerian healthcare sector with a special focus on rural healthcare development and healthcare value. The poor management of human resources is a major challenge in my country. Every health organization needs people that are adequately skilled, enthused, and productive. These important qualities would be absent if the health workers are not well paid or are understaffed and overworked; which is widely seen in the healthcare system in Nigeria. The concept of human resource management cuts across recruitment, evaluation, promotion, retirement and dismissal of personnel, if these are done adequately, it creates an environment for patients to receive the best healthcare. It is a popular saying that "money is power". Just as fuel powers an automobile engine, so also financial resources empower the healthcare organization. The health sector is one of, if not the most, crucial sectors of a nation. As a result, a lot of financial resources are budgeted for the smooth running of this sector. To achieve the set goal, the financial spending must be prudent. HealthCare facilities are grossly unequipped, especially in the rural areas and some of the facilities available are only accessible to the rich due to how expensive the services are which is further buttressed by the absence of an appropriately managed healthcare insurance.