Argument Essay- The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students.

The newsletter concludes that by participating in mandatory unpaid community service students will gain working experience and also help local charities in the process. This argument is flawed for these three reasons. Firstly, the author assumes, without evidence, that students would gain real- world working experience from volunteering. Perhaps, students choose to complete their community service in a field completely unrelated to their major. It is also possible that the local charity selected will not have the resources to provide valuable work experience that will help the student and therefore it might not have the desired impact that the school expects it to have on the student. If any of the above proves to be true the author's argument is weakened. Secondly, it is presumed by the author that the students will become well-rounded as a result of this community service requirement. It is possible that the students' academic life may suffer as a result of the additional 8 hours of unpaid community service which may ultimately make them less well-rounded. The strength of the argument is dramatically weakened if the author does not address this assumption. Finally, the author fallaciously assumes that the students will utilize the list of approved local charities provided. Perhaps, the students will choose to volunteer at a charity that was not listed which may result in the local charities not receiving the help they need. The argument will not hold water if the students are not volunteering at these local charities therefore the author needs to conduct a scientific survey to see if this is being done. In conclusion, the current state of the argument is specious at best therefore the author would need to address these assumptions stated above in order to increase the validity of argument.