Healthcare continues to be outrageously costly around the globe. With the increasing demand for affordable clinical care, there has been a debate about offering free healthcare.

Healthcare continues to be outrageously costly around the globe. With the increasing demand for affordable clinical care, there has been a debate about offering free healthcare. We are at the point whereby essential care should be accessible to the citizens around the globe, which is the case in countries such as the United Kingdom and Canada. Concerning the humanitarian aspect, free healthcare is a plausible attribute. Implementation of universal health, however, may be detrimental in multiple ways. As such, having free healthcare services can be advantageous, but there are several inevitable demerits. Free healthcare services are impactful to society in numerous ways. Foremost, a plethora of benefits can be attributed to universal health. Islam (2019) notes that equality in patient care can be achieved, promoting quality of living for marginalized groups. Global health coverage is an ultimate aspect that indicates the respect and value for human rights (Islam & Li, 2019). Citizens should be provided with accessible and affordable medical care. Nevertheless, free healthcare is disadvantageous in a plethora of ways. It can adversely affect the quality of care following the increasing demand for medical attention. The caregivers, therefore, can be overwhelmed, hence affecting the delivery of care. Achieving free healthcare can demand massive capital, which may be a drawback for a nation (Hicks, 2016). All in all, accessible healthcare is beneficial and disadvantageous to society. To end, the aspect of free healthcare is associated with merits and disadvantages. Universal health can be beneficial to vulnerable groups in a nation due to equity in accessing primary care. However, achieving free health services can be costly hence affecting the economic state in a country. Besides, quality of care can be affected due to the proliferating demand for clinical care. Despite the implications of free healthcare, government and medical institutions should consent to nurture accessibility and affordability of essential care.