Health Belief Model is one of the most widely used models for understanding health behaviors

Health Belief Model is one of the most widely used models for understanding health behaviors. In the application of this model, it is important to identify "cues to action" that are meaningful and appropriate for the target population. In this program, men who have had sex with men (MSM) in the Houston area, which are more seriously afflicted by HIV than any other group in the United States, will be the target demographic. In the early 1950s, US public health researchers began developing psychological models designed to enhance the effectiveness of health education programs (Hochbaum 1958; Rosenstock 1966). The Health Belief Model (HBM) is an extensively researched model of health behavior. The HBM has been used to be somewhat different operationalizations of the six constructs by various researchers (see Rosenstock, 1974; Becker and Maiman, 1983) and to aid understanding in sexual risk-taking behavior among various ages (Brown, DiClemente, & Reynolds, 1991) and cultural groups (Lin, Simoni, & Zemon, 2005). It provides an understanding of the failure in order to adopt disease prevention strategies or screening tests for the early detection of disease when predicting health-related behavior in terms of certain belief patterns. The HBM derives from psychological and behavioral theory with the foundation that the two components of health-related behavior (Wayne W. LaMorte, 2019) are (1) the desire to avoid illness, or conversely get well if already ill; and, (2) the belief that a specific health action will prevent, or cure illness. There are six conducts of this model. The four key constructs, which were developed as the original tenets of the HBM, are identified as perceived susceptibility and perceived severity (two dimensions of “threat”), and perceived benefits and perceived barriers. Two recent adaptations have added the concepts “cue to action, ” a stimulus to undertake behavior; and self-efficacy, or confidence in performing an action. Follow that, If a person perceives a threat to their health, is consecutively cued to action, and their perceived benefits outweigh the perceived barriers, then they are likely to undertake the recommended preventive health action. In order to prevent HIV/AIDS in the public, especially for Black Men Who Have Sex with Men in the United States, the HBM applies in designing short- and long-term interventions educating about the risk of infection, the important role of the prevention measures and using structural interventions to improve adherence to treatment. The recommendation begins with knowledge focused on sexual identity, anal intercourse, and HIV/STI preventative measures. First and foremost, extensive and focused prevention measures address at prominent MSM locations, increasing HIV testing rates, and providing condoms and information. When a person can perceive their risk-taking behaviors spread HIV such as unprotected sex, the HIV transmission connection to circumcision, he will undertake the recommended preventive health action as test and obtain the necessary medications. It addresses the purpose of lesser HIV rates of infection between black males in the southern United States, and among people who inject drugs. There are the five key action-related components that determine the ability of the HBM to influence health behaviors in HIV/AIDS prevention. The information is gathered by conducting needs assessments and other efforts to determine who is at risk and the population(s) that should be targeted. The consequences of the health issues associated with risk behaviors are conveyed in MSM-frequented venues and websites, such as brochures, articles, and web pages to perceive the severity of this issue. In progress, communicating to the target population is involved in taking the recommended prevention action and highlighting the benefits to action in order to provide assistance in identifying and reducing barriers to action. Some support activities are executed to enhance self-efficacy and the likelihood of successful behavior changes. The HBM, of course, has limitations in its utility in public health. To ensure success with this model, it is appropriate to be used in combination with other theories or models such as Theory of Planned Behavior, Social Cognitive Theory. For example, social pressure is a key component of the Theory of Planned Behavior and a measure of intention, which do not appear in the HBM. And self-efficacy beliefs which have been found to be powerful predictors of behavior in models based on Social Cognitive Theory (Bandura, 1986) are not explicitly included in the HBM, although it was added to the model relatively. HBM is considered a static model; there is no distinction that is thought to be important in understanding various health behaviors. The distinction is between a motivational stage dominated by cognitive variables and a volitional phase where the action is planned, performed and maintained (Schwarzer, 1992). However, there is evidence that the HBM can assist in understanding sexual risk-taking behavior in this program.