health administration in nigeria

Good health improves the quality of life of people, health is a significant ingredient of life and a nation of sick people cannot carry out their tasks and responsibilities. I am the first of five children in a family from the western part of Nigeria. Anyone familiar with the culture would attest to the responsibility the firstborn wields from birth. I grew up with the “Superwoman” complex, I was determined to change the world and I spent minutes to hours planning how I was going to make it happen. I wanted to help people live better and more comfortable lives. I read and fell in love with “Gifted hands” by Dr. Ben Carson, the way he touched lives by giving one person the hope of living again appealed to me greatly and this led to me pursuing a career in medicine. My exposure to clinical medicine started in my fourth year of medical school and I began to realize the shortcomings in the management of healthcare, policies that guided the health care system and how much effect it had on the health of the people and their chances of survival. I then concluded that as a doctor I could go beyond my consulting room of changing one life at a time to effecting change to many more at once if I had the opportunity to manage healthcare on any level.