he past few decades have witnessed an inexorable preference for imported food.

The past few decades have witnessed an inexorable preference for imported food. While a number of people concede that this consumption can bring a multitude of demerits, it is my concrete belief that its merits are far more significant. On the one hand, innumberable negatives are resulted from the consumption of exotic dishes. Firstly, local farmers might suffer from hostile competition with their foreign counterparts which leads to certain damage for them. In fact, because of the diversity and novelty of imported foods, local produce has not been favored impare with foreign food on supermaket shelves. As a result, the amount of local product sold has decreased significantly, which has put farmers on the verge of losing their livelihoods and jobs. Secondly, non-native food is exorbitant price due to tariff and freight charges. It can be explained that the distance of transportation is too far, so people need to use the large-scale transport which must to consume a huge material and trasnport costs. Therefore, prices are inflated for consumer comparing to its true value. On the other hand, I would argue that the benefits of savoring foreign delicacies far eclipse the aforementioned drawbacks. First, a large number of exotic foods have imported into home country which contribute to increasing competition between local food manufactures and forgein ones. Actually, it is a springboard for improving quality of nourishment that bring enormous benifits to consumers. It can be explained that domestic producers will effort to carry out higher standards and diversity commoditys, thereby satifying costumer’s requiements and fostering them cosume this products. Second, selling both foreign and local food in tandem not only can bring about a wider diversity of choices for client but also exposure to foreign delicacies. For instance, people are likely to enjoy foreign food such as Korean food and Japanese food without paying enomous money to arrive there. As a result, customers can expose and enrich their horizon of knowledge of different food cultures. In conclusion, the merits consuming exotic dishes such as bringing about motivation for boosting domestic food develoment and helping people to access foreign cuisine are significant, far outriping the negative impact.