he biggest advantage of doing a part time job is that it makes a student independent

More and more students now do part time jobs while they are still at university. In my opinion, working while studying can be hugely rewarding; however, it does have some drawbacks as well. The biggest advantage of doing a part time job is that it makes a student independent. It boosts their self confidence and promotes growth. Moreover by working, they can fund their studies. For instance, they do not have to depend on parents for pocket money or to fulfill any extra need. Apart from this, working part time makes them understand the importance and value of money. For example, when they toil hard and save money for purchasing an item, they learn to value money and use it wisely. Better still, they will learn to respect all labour. However, working while studying has some disadvantages as well. The biggest disadvantage is that it will distract students from their studies. Some students may even drop out of college. Unfortunately, this affects their career prospects because it is not possible for someone who does not have a degree to get a high paying job. By the time they realize this it will be too late. At least some of these disappointed students may indulge in illegal activities to make money quickly. To sum up, I admit that there are several benefits to working while studying. However, only those students who are serious about their studies should be encouraged to work part time. Otherwise, they may drop out spoiling their career prospects.