How and why do today’s young people use social media/ networks? Do you think the benefits of using them far outweigh the drawbacks?

These days, social networks play an essential part in our lives, so more and more young adults have access to them every day for various purposes, such as entertainment, study, and so on. From my point of view, I think the upsides of utilizing them exceed the negative aspects. Admittedly, there are some minor drawbacks to using social media. Firstly, people may face some health problems. Because they have been using their phones, laptops, or other devices to access social media on a daily basis and spend too much time on it, resulting in eye-shortness, exhaustion, and headaches. Secondly, they will be exposed to some hidden risks. Because habitants can access social networks easily and they may connect with some people whom they haven’t known before. As a result, they may experience some risks, such as being bullied, being shared some uneducated things, being added to some weird groups or even losing their bank account or personal information because of clicking some strange links. Therefore, I think they should think carefully what they will do when using the social networks. Nevertheless, despite the disadvantages listed above, I believe that people can benefit more from using social media. Firstly, social network users can seek out information and solutions to their various problems. As you know, in a developing society, finding information is really important. If people don’t up-to-date information regularly, they may miss a great number of chances to change their life and they may lack of knowledge, which leads to their failure in life. As a student, I have been using the social networks everyday to find some exercises to practice in order to reinforce the lessons that I learned and search some difficult exercises on the internet, which helps me a lot in improving my knowledge. Secondly, people can use it for entertainment and may have some good friends who have the same thoughts or the same interests as they do. For instance, when people are very stressed about something, they can use social media to listen to a song to heal their hearts or find some friends to share their stories with. Besides, they can watch Netflix when they have spare time. Thirdly, people can develop themselves with some courses or experiences that are shared on the internet. And I believe that if they know how to apply these things in their life, they will be very successful in the future. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that the advantages of using social media surpass the downsides.