having kids late though couples get married early

Nowadays, it is true that there has been a dramatic increase in having kids late though couples get married early. This essay will consider the reasons for above trend and the possible effects on families and society. The driving force behind this trend is changing employment patterns. As more women have pursued an education and entered the workforce, they tend to marry later and have children later in their life. This is unavoidable in numerous cases due to the fact women cannot combine family and work well due to costly childcare. Furthermore, all the other opportunities are still available to everyone. For example, a number of men and women choose to travel around the world or take the chance to work in another country, thus delaying settling down. There are a number of possible impacts on families and society. Initially, with regard to families, it can be more difficult for older women to get pregnant, and they may experience more health problems, such as a miscarriage, high blood pressure or diabetes, during pregnancy. In addition, the parents may find the whole experience of bringing up children more tiring if they are older. In one respect it may be beneficial for society owing to the fact that if people are choosing to work for longer, a country will have a productive workforce. Nevertheless, on the adverse side, in the long-term falling fertility rates will mean an aging population with a lack of young people to work and take care of the elderly. In conclusion, there are several reasons that people are having children late in life, and this can bring a number of impacts, both beneficial and adverse. Given the fact that society continues to change, this trend is likely to raise well into the future.