Ha Long Bay - my favorite place okgyb

Located in the northeast of Vietnam, Halong Bay was awarded World Heritage Site status in 1994. It is the most popular destination for tourists to this part of Vietnam and is made up of approximately 3000 islands which rise out of the water and have a magical and mysterious aura about them. The islands are made up of grottos and beaches that have been created by the wind and the water that surrounds them although Vietnamese legend says that the islands were created by a mountain dwelling dragon. He is said to have carved out the landscape with his tail before plunging into the water which then filled the landscape only leaving the peaks of the rocks sticking out. These ‘islands’ can be viewed from the relative comfort of a boat and sailing holidays for singles and groups are common, but Halong Bay also has other things to offer. There are many caves in the Bay which tourists come to explore, some of which have been illuminated, specifically for their benefit. As well as the caves, Cat Ba National Park offers great opportunities for hiking and seeing more of the stunning scenery. The way to get to Halong Bay is via Halong City, where you can organise a trip to Halong Bay if you did not do this prior to arriving in Vietnam. There is no doubt that the best way to see Halong Bay and its stunning landscape is from the water. Part of most organised tours of this region will include a boat trip through the bay and possibly even the chance to sleep on the boat. There are also many boating and sailing holidays for singles and groups available which will offer you the chance to sail through the bay in varying degrees of comfort and style. Whatever time of year you choose to visit, it is likely to be affected by the weather. Visiting between February and April means the weather will be cool and potentially rainy, with fog also becoming a problem. However in the summer months, the area is prone to tropical storms so boat trips will be subject to change. If you are visiting Vietnam, even for a short time, then Halong Bay has to be on your list of places to see. It has a unique and spectacular landscape and has to be seen to be truly appreciated.