Group assignments versus conventional teaching methods which one do you prefer?

According to me, traditional teaching methods are more convenient and spoon feeding however it is not too much practical. So, I prefer group assignments which would help students to do explorations and gain knowledge by themselves. My opinion is that working on group assignments provide self responsibility and students can learn team working which provides them great insights and improve their communication skill. For instance, I am trained with the conventional ways of learning in my school but I was asked to work on topics as a group after I joined to college. Initially, I struggled a lot to cope up with this challenge as I was not faced earlier later I managed to lead myself in all the work. I enjoyed doing explorations on particular content and gained more knowledge on the same. Sometimes those assignments were practical experiments and I was excited once I get the desired result with lots of hand's on. Absolutely, this is one of the best solution to improve students skills in spite of teaching them using older methods. Now with latest technologies, Children have lot of opportunities to work online with their assignments. Even my kids bored of learning in an usual way but they are interested whenever they are doing in a group. They are more active and trying to compete with the other groups since they are appreciated after the successful work. Finally, my suggestion is that the group assignments will surely a better way of learning and gain skills at an early age compare to the traditional methods of teaching.