graphical representation of the data pertaining to the 4 key modes of transport utilised to transport goods within the UK between the years 1974 to 2002.

The following report is derived by the graphical representation of the data pertaining to the 4 key modes of transport utilised to transport goods within the UK between the years 1974 to 2002. As clearly displayed, transport over roads is shown to be very popular with water coming a very close second to it. Railways show a fluctuating trend over the span of the years while Pipelines showcase a gradual increase. On closer scrutiny of the modes utilised over the century, it is evident that the Road transport led the pack. In its initial years, almost over 7o million tonnes of goods were transported over road and it steadily rose over the years. It observed a slight dip of more or less 5million tonnes but quickly recovered by gaining almost 20 million more. Waterways showcased an impressive leap in 1978 by adding 20 million tonnes more as compared to its initial years, however it resigned itself to a plateau for almost a decade between 1982 to 1994. After a slight dip it rose to almost 62 million tonnes. As we observe the remainder modes, Railways displayed a fluctuating decline, dropping from its initial 40 million tonnes in 1974 to almost 24 million tonnes in 1994. It rose steadily somewhere around 1996 and returned to its initial quantity. Pipeline started from a meagre 5 million goods and increased sluggishly over the years to finally maintain a 20 million tonne transport from the years 1194 to 2002.