Govt. should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Some people think that governments should allocate more funds on railways rather than roads. However such kind of statement should be done only after thorough evaluation as it has both advantages and disadvantages. I would like to outline how wrong it is to spend money only on railways. Although railroads are much more convenient for people as they cost cheaper, this type of transportation is not comfortable for small distances. Considering the fact that a lot of people are accustomed to drive their own car, funding of smooth and good roads' construction is vital. On the other hand railways funding is quite big and serve long as no atmosphere precipitation cam damage it. While roads' condition directly depends on weather conditions and require permanent reconstruction. Consequently the better roads we have, the fewer accidents will happen. To conclude I am not agree with the statement that railways should be funded more than roads because more people use roads and its condition affects on people life